Album review: Everybody loves Ice Prince (E.L.I.)

There is much to say about this Jos boy but in all honesty, he had us at! We review his album as it celebrates it’s one year anniversary.

Nigerian hip-hop or Naija hip-hop as it’s more commonly known, has quickly become an industry worth following and supporting and artists such as Ice Prince are the reason why.

Ice Prince, real name Panshak Zamani, is one of the few prominent Nigerian hip-hop artists that have drawn long overdue attention to Naija hip-hop. After the release of his number one single Oleku featuring Brymo, his album, Everybody Loves Ice Prince (E.L.I.), became the most anticipated album of the year in Nigeria in 2011.

It’s safe to say that it was well worth the wait. The title was inspired by the outpouring of love and support he received from his fans after the death of his mother. With over 9 featured artists including Wizkid, Brymo, 2face and Sean Tero, one would think Ice Prince doesn’t shine much but that’s where you would truly be mistaken. It actually just shows how versatile he is with the different songs relating different messages. The dancehall tracks such as Superstar will make you dance, the Afro-beat tracks such as By This Time feat. Wizboy stay true to Nigerian music. Did I mention he writes all his songs? Except where he features another artist, Ice Prince exposes listeners to his writing skills. He also goes on to sing on other tracks such as Find You, something a lot of hip-hop artists shy away from. He has been criticized for including genres such as RnB, dancehall, soul and Afro-beat in a hip-hop album but if that is a crime he paid the price and won the Hennessey Artistry of the year in 2009. He is also currently nominated for Most Gifted Ragga Dancehall Video (Magician Remix) and Most Gifted Hip Hop Video (Superstar) for the 9th Annual Channel O Music Video Awards.

There is much to say about this Jos boy but in all honesty, he had us at!

1. Check out the E.L.I.P. track-list
2. Remember
3. Juju

4. Superstar
5. Magician Ft Yung L & J-Milla

6. Baby
7. Olofofo Ft Wizkid
8. See Myself
9. Wassup Wassup Ft Tuface
10. Oleku Ft Brymo

11. Find You
12. By This Time Ft Wizboy
13. Somebody Lied
14. Small Small Ft Sean Tero
15. That Ni**a Ft Morell
16. End Of Story Ft Samklef
17. Raindrops (It’s All Good)
18. Thank You Ft ChocBoiz

By Lesedi Mofokeng.

Leave a Reply!